Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Stupid Quote of the Day

on May 31, 2015
"At least you can't see it!"

“At least you can’t see it!”

Along the wall

Along the wall

As I trash walked earlier this week, I was climbing along a lakeside rock wall, where people often sit to enjoy the view.  They enjoy the beauty of the view, but feel compelled to leave behind their litter.  That is a dichotomy that I will never understand.  Lover of beauty, thoughtless destroyer of beauty.  I was thinking about this as I was reaching deep between rocks to retrieve yet another coffee cup jammed in there.

As I stood up, cup successfully retrieved, a gentleman stopped and commented: “Lots of garbage in there, eh?”  “Yeah”, I replied, “people think that if they jam it between the rocks, they aren’t littering, I guess”.  Now, I thought that this man was going to be a trash walker’s soul mate, a guy who gets it, maybe someone who occasionally picks up the odd bit of litter himself.  I was excited.  I’m always excited when I have the chance to talk about the war on litter that I wage daily.  I’m always excited to enlist new recruits.

I was stunned, sadly disappointed and rendered speechless when this gentleman responded with “at least you can’t see it”, or what I call the Stupid Quote of the Day.

I already get some odd looks as I trash walk, and I’m resigned to that, I don’t care.  But no need to stir the pot by cursing and ranting loudly,  So, as I went back to my trash walking, I cursed and ranted quietly instead, as I dug unseen litter from between the boulders.

Please pick up 3 pieces of trash today, wherever you are.  Every little bit counts.

peace.

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around Brooklyn neighborhoods

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Luxury and Beyond

