Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Onward with Trash Walking: Ideas, Makers, Art

on January 12, 2015

Well, here we are, almost half way through the first month of the year, and I haven’t posted a single thing since New Year’s Eve. Of course, I have picked up trash every day. Doing so is just an ingrained habit now, almost to the point of obsession. I can no longer take a leisurely neighbourhood walk, just for the sake of walking, because I am compelled to pick up trash as I go. Sometimes, I wish I could put on some rose coloured glasses, and just see beauty when I walk. But I can’t. I see trash spoiling the beauty, and I just have to pick it up. And so it goes. This slightly obsessed Port Credit Trash Walker is going to keep going, keep picking up, keep writing about it.

I mentioned in my last post that I am going to make 2015 a year to kick things up a notch. Specifically, I want to get others involved. To engage business owners, the local Business Improvement Association, schools. I have some ideas, and I’m excited to be meeting with a friend tomorrow to hear about some ideas she has, and to share mine with her. Once we’ve met, I’ll hopefully have some plans to share with you.

I had to re-name my Facebook page recently, by adding the word Moms to Trash Walking. This is because I discovered quite by accident that a fellow trash walker in New York State already had a page called Trash Walking. To avoid confusion among our zillions of followers, I added a word to my page name. I introduced myself to New York Trash Walker, and since then follow her page, as she does mine. She’s dedicated to her mission to clean up her neighbourhood, is very funny, and an excellent researcher. She gets in to the details of trash, in terms of it’s origins, waste disposal programs et cetera.
When changing the name of my page, I deliberately chose Moms, not Mom, because I want other Moms to join me. I also want Dads, Aunts, Uncles, Kids, Brothers and Sisters, but adding all of those to the title seemed a tad long.

My obsession with picking up trash is accompanied by a touch of hoarding tendency too, and I am really, really trying to manage that. I tend to keep waste items because I might be able to make something out of them. In my possession right now are about a thousand or so plastic bottle caps (left overs from a bottle cap art project we did with Eco Club last year) along with assorted plastic gift cards, coffee bags, old CDs and floppy discs, as well as a bucket full of plastic toys and dooh dads that my son has received in gift bags etc. and that he definitely does not miss. If you Google “what to make from used coffee bags” (or gift cards, or CDs or floppy discs ) you’ll find all kinds of tutorials for making wallets, jewelry, mobiles, frames, wreaths and so on. My son and I made some fun mobiles with CDs in 2013, and even sold a few as a fund raiser for Syrian refugees, and I think Eco Club might have a go at coffee bag wallets and CD spinners sometime this year. I really wish I had the time and the space to work on projects more. I’ll figure it out. Until then, I quietly tuck things away, here and there, and work on not letting it get out of hand.
Here are just a couple of pictures of my “collection” of stuff
IMG01943-20150112-1250

IMG01947-20150112-1252

IMG01948-20150112-1256

In my Facebook life, I have found several artists and crafters who use an assortment of trash or beach finds to create some stunning art. I am in awe of their creativity, and love that they are re-purposing something that has been discarded.
One of my favourites is Flotsam Weaving, from England. The name says it all. She creates inspired tapestries using beach finds. She’s even done a TED talk on her work! You ought to check out her page!
https://www.facebook.com/weavingwithflotsam/timeline

Until I write again, I’ll keep on trash walking, and I hope you will too.

Peace.

2 responses to “Onward with Trash Walking: Ideas, Makers, Art

  1. Jen says:

    Great article! You’ve inspired me to be more aware of being a trash pickerer-upper. Until seeing you doing and reading your stuff, I’d not thought much about it. But happy to say once I started picking up, it really becomes something you notice and feel good about doing. Love the ideas for crafts too πŸ™‚

  2. cjwild2014 says:

    thanks, Jen…I know that you are right in to it now, and I really appreciate that, and that you help spread the word πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around the Neighborhood and Beyond

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

