Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Memories of a November day in 1963 (Daily Prompt: Cause, meet Effect)

on December 21, 2014

kennedy

(I wrote this before I saw the Cause, meet Effect prompt in the Daily Post. I am editing this post now to include a reference to the prompt. Cause: picking up litter in Ontario,2014. Effect: Memories of a day in America, 1963)
https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/cause-meet-effect/

I was so surprised to find the cover of the Life magazine that was published following President Kennedy’s assassination in 1963. It’s in perfect condition, which tells me that it (along with the rest of the issue) must have been stored for years, as a keepsake. Maybe whoever stored it passed on, and the person left to dispose of their possessions put it out to the trash, not understanding or caring about it’s significance. And then the wind blew it to the vacant lot in Port Credit, Ontario that I have adopted as my own. Waiting to be picked up, along with the usual assortment of trash.

I was a six year old Canadian school girl when this terrible thing happened, but my memories of that day, and the days after are so very vivid. I recall being sent home early by our teachers as tears streamed down their faces, of my mom and the neighbour lady crying in front of the black and white T.V. where Walter Cronkite was breaking down as he announced that President Kennedy was dead.

When I finish a trash walk, I dispose of what I have picked up in the appropriate spots, either a recycling bin or a public garbage can. Not this. It came home with me, and it is stored away safely now. The sixties were tumultuous times. These are tumultuous times. What do we do to ease the tumult, to make this world a better place? We do what we can. We all have it in us.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around the Neighborhood and Beyond

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

