Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

A Thanksgiving Lesson (teaching my nine year old about food waste)

on October 9, 2014

Besides my trash walking, I really am trying to live a greener life, and to teach my nine year old son Noel to do the same. I’ve made some pretty good strides overall, I think. I am a more conscious consumer, and he is too. He knows what the term “planned obsolescence” means, and understands why I really loathe SKYLANDERS. That’s a whole post on it’s own. Maybe some day.  Those who know me personally also know that Noel is a master at building toys from recycled materials.  A bit of a healthy obsession at the moment, and I love it, and that is also a whole other post.

But Noel wastes food with nary a thought, and it drives me crazy.  I really hate to waste food, for the obvious reasons and I want him to understand this, and to grow to hate wasting food too.  His excuse for school lunch is pretty much always the same. No time. While I do know that there really isn’t a lot of time to eat lunch at school, I don’t really buy this excuse, since he always has time for the snacks that are in his lunch kit. I’ve threatened not to send snacks, but worry that if I go that route,  he won’t eat anything all day at school.  I realized that ragging him about it each day was not doing either of us any good, so, I’m trying a wee experiment this week. I explained it to him, and started it yesterday.

Everything that Noel doesn’t eat during the day is going in to a plastic container which I’m storing in the fridge, and we are going to see how much is in there at the end of the week. He was not too happy about me putting his toast crusts in there yesterday morning, and guess what? He ate the crusts! Small victory? Maybe, maybe not. Here’s what came home from yesterday’s lunch.

IMG01415-20141009-1411

Macaroni (KD to be exact.  If you aren’t from Canada, you won’t get this reference.  Don’t worry, it’s a Canadian thing). Weird, because he used to always eat a KD lunch right up. Maybe I gave him too much?   Maybe his tastes are changing? Either reason is fine, but I want him to tell me this so I know what to pack for him.  So I know what he will eat.  Anyway, I’ll take pics and post daily, and we’ll see if this new strategy works.

It is coming up to Thanksgiving weekend here in Canada, and more than anything, I want to instill in my son a sense of gratitude for all that we have in Canada.  For the most part, he gets it.  But I guess I hope that this experiment will drive it home a little bit more.

I wish you all a joyous and bountiful Thanksgiving, rich in love.  I am grateful that I live in Canada, and believe with all my heart that it is possible to heal the world with a little compassion and thought.

peace.

3 responses to “A Thanksgiving Lesson (teaching my nine year old about food waste)

  1. RachelT says:

    I love this experiment! Glad you are keeping the bucket in the fridge!!!

  2. How creative! I love it!

  3. cjwild2014 says:

    Ha ha 🙂 Noel tried to dissuade me from the experiment by telling me the food would rot.

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around Brooklyn neighborhoods

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Luxury and Beyond

