Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Book Club at my place, June, 2013

on June 1, 2014

Our book club get togethers were always sleepovers because geographically we are not close, and because we like to imbibe while discussing books.  And yes, we really did always discuss the books, and read many wonderful ones. Many (our spouses) thought that book club was just an excuse to get together and drink, but no, this really was a book club, albeit maybe an unusual one. Definitely a fun one. It evolved over the years as we kept adding new bookclub “rules and procedures”  which we referred to as “ordinances”, as a homage to one of our earliest reads, The Gate to Women’s Country, by Sherri S. Tepper.  One of the rules we incorporated in to book club very early on,  is “anyone who doesn’t read or finish the book, must be beer wench to the rest of book club for a period of one hour during book club meeting”.  So you get the idea, right?  Much more that your average book club, 

I am using the past tense here, because our book club has unofficially ended.  No one has actually said the words “bookclub is finished”, but we haven’t had a get together in a long time and so we all know.  I miss it, I really do, and I know that the others feel the same way.  But, life sometimes gets in the way, so, it is on hold for now.  I think this photo, taken about a year ago, was our last bookclub meeting, held at my place.

Image

Good thing that these women are also part of “chick’s weekend”, “camper’s thanksgiving” and “christmas trees”, so I still get to see them all, just not often enough.  I love them all. 

I’ll probably post about book club again sometime.  Maybe I’ll introduce you to Barbie and Skipper, and tell how they became a part of book club.  I have a copy of our ordinances somewhere, maybe I’ll post that.  Maybe I’ll mention a little something about plaid hats, or yellow happy faces.

All of this is for the keepers and treasures part of my blog.  It has nothing to do with trash, and everything to do with friendship.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around the Neighborhood and Beyond

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

