Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

A little dab’ll do ya!

on May 18, 2014

A little dab'll do ya!

Keepers and Treasures.
In the evolution of Trash Walking, and my blogging education, I have learned that it’s a good idea to have a weekly feature. This is mine. Each week ( I have yet to definitely decide which day, but will soon enough), I’ll post about a keeper or treasure and not about trash. Something or someone or some photo of a time that I treasure.

I treasure this Brylcreem bobble head couple because my dad was a travelling salesman for Beecham, the company that made Brylcreem. They would have been promotional items given to stores for product display, some time in the sixties. Dad must have known that his three daughters would like a set, and it would have been quite alright for him to bring one home. For years, they were displayed on a shelf of the family room bar (basement bar…how 70’s is that !?) in the place that my family called home.
Looking at them, I think of a young dad, off to work each day, shoes shined, shirt, tie, business suit, Brylcreemed hair, kissing each of his girls as he headed out the door. I always thought he looked so handsome! I think of a young mom, kissing dad goodbye each day, then getting us off to school, homework done, stomachs full, happy and healthy. After we were off, she would have had time to, as she always put it’ “do her face” before she got on with the rest of the day. Mom was always fashionably dressed and coiffed too.
I think of my dad’s career trajectory from office boy to vice president of the company. On a grade eight education! I think of how proud my mom was of dad, and how she supported him in his career, how she loved helping him succeed! I think of the annual conventions they attended, and how much they loved going. I think of some of the lasting friendships that mom and dad have had. They were friendships that began because dad was a salesman who people couldn’t help but like. They grew because dad and mom were people that others really enjoyed being around.
These bobble heads are keepers, and they have a story to tell. And funny, I never noticed this before, but they kind of look like dad and mom, back in the day.
Peace!

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around Brooklyn neighborhoods

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Luxury and Beyond

