Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Who I am and Why I’m here.

on April 15, 2014
Plastic crafts

Plastic crafts

Found on the shoreline

Found on the shoreline


I’ve been gradually becoming an environmental activist.  There, that’s the first time I have ever actually referred to myself in this way, but when I look at what I have done this year, and where my heart is, I see that the term fits.  And I like it.  And I anticipate getting more active.  Because I don’t want to sit around doing nothing, when there is a lot that can be done, with results immediate as well as not so immediate

I care about our shared planet overall, and my little part of it in particular, and so I do things.  Alot of what I post here will be about those things that I do.  I hope that maybe, some of what I do will rub off on others.  I think it already is, a little bit.

I live in a beautiful, vibrant neighbourhood called Port Credit, in Ontario, Canada.  Port Credit has so much to offer, and I try to take fulll advantage of it.  We are situated on the shores of Lake Ontario and we enjoy a vibrant, year round social scene here, with several festivals and events which are enjoyed by both the locals and visitors.   Although Port Credit is a part of the city of Mississauga, it is very much like a village.  You can actually walk to the shopping area, restaurants, schools, waterfront parks, pools etc. Walk!  That is a big deal in Mississauga, believe me.  And although I don’t always walk (bad feet), I am trying to, in small ways, reduce my time behind the wheel.

We also have a great community spirit here.  Volunteerism is high here in Port Credit, and for me this means being an active part of my son’s school community.  I have organized or participated in some wonderful initiatives here, and have always felt that if someone takes on the role of organizer, there are always many, many willing participants who understand that we really all can make a small difference.  One of the areas that I have tried to make a difference in this year is in getting people to rethink disposability.   With a couple of like minded moms, I have been volunteering to help run “Eco Club” this year at my son’s school,  with grade 4, 5 and 6 students.  I have used a couple of crafts to help bring awareness to the students about plastic pollution, and about how there is no “AWAY” when it comes to plastic.  I think that we need to rethink our relationship to material possessions overall, and non disposable plastics in particular.  Of course, one of the easiest ways to reduce plastic use is to refuse plastic bags, plastic water bottles, and disposable cups/straws.  But plastic is everywhere, and we need to come up with something better!

You will see several posts about litter in this blog, because cleaning it up is one of my passions.  Making people aware that something can be done, is a bit of a mission of mine.  Although Port Credit is wonderful, we do, in my opinion, have a serious litter problem.  Maybe wherever you live does too?  Because of this I go for weekly neighbourhood “trash walks”, armed with a good pair of work gloves, and two buckets, one for trash, one for recyclables.  Sometimes I hit a couple of streets, sometimes a local park, in just depends on what I see out there.  I have recently started bringing my phone with me on these walks, so that I can document what I find.  This is not a novel idea.  There are several organizations and individuals who are doing the same thing.  I feel so connected to these people, have so much respect for these organizations and have learned so much about solutions by following them.   At least one post in this blog will be devoted to sharing the links to these groups and sharing their stories.

So, I don’t know if I will have many people following my blog.  Trash is not exactly fun, or sexy, but I’ll try to make this blog a little bit humorous and informative.   And, I promise.  I will, from time to time write about other topics!

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around the Neighborhood and Beyond

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

