Trash Walking

disposables, keepers, treasures

Trash walking

on April 4, 2014

About a year ago, I decided to try to make a difference to my wonderful neighbourhood by doing “garbage walks” to help keep the streets litter free.  There is so much of it on the ground right now!  Some of it has been buried under mountains of snow for several months.  Some of it has blown out of garbage trucks or cans (we have had a lot of windy days lately).  Some of it has just been dropped by thoughtless people. It doesn’t really matter to me WHERE it came from, it matters that it gets picked up!  And so, I do my walks.  And, in the fashion of several Facebook pages that I follow,  I have started photographing what I pick up and posting about it,  with the hope that others will be inspired to take action too.  One of the pages that inspires me is out of Australia, called TAKE 3.  Their premise is that if we all made it part of our routine to pick up 3 pieces of trash every day, what a wonderful difference we could make to the landscape around us, WHEREVER we are.  And so I follow this idea of taking 3. And so I am coordinating a neighbourhood Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup here in Port Credit next Saturday. And so I will continue to do weekly garbage walks in the parts of my neighbourhood that look particularly littered.  And I will write about the interesting people I encounter while “trash walking”, the mostly junk, but sometimes treasures that I find.  And probably a great deal about my extreme dislike of disposable plastic and it’s pervasiveness in our culture, and how much I admire those who strive to reduce their use of plastic.  It’s a journey that starts with one step, one foot in front of the other.  It’s one I want to take, I think it’s one we need to take. I hope you’ll come along for the ride, and maybe learn something, maybe share something with me, maybe be inspired to Take 3.

 

 

5 responses to “Trash walking

  1. […] Trash walking Apr […]

  2. Christine says:

    I can make the promise to Take 3!

  3. Kerri says:

    Just read through all of your posts… Awesome Cindy!!! I’ve been known to give people shit for littering. Straight up ask them to pick it up and if they don’t my response is “guess I have to do it” and then I proceed to pick it up quite dramatically I might add. Another pet peeve is people not putting their shopping cart back! I believe in karma and feel this is why my cute little civic doesn’t have any cart dents in it.

Leave a Reply

loveletteringproject.com/

What do you love about your city?

Mama Librarian

Thoughts from a brainy, bookish mama

Old Owl Hoots

Crown Hill Park in Jefferson Co Colorado

Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

Welcome to the Anglo Swiss World

Brooklyn Doodle

Napkin Doodles around the Neighborhood and Beyond

Writer, editor, etc.

I make sure that your work is world class.

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Aiming to be Green

Appreciating and protecting the Earth for future generations....

Bob and Emily

Live, laugh, love......and enjoy every minute

A Little Bit Of Happiness

I share stories about happiness, the same kind most people overlook

Kevin Paterson

Author And Music Blogger

Travel Moments

Adventure, Travel and Beyond

